African American Civil War Memorial

For today’s theme, a landmark: I went to the African American Civil War memorial in Washington D.C. in honor of Veteran’s Day. The war memorial lists the names of African American soldiers in the United States Colored Troops (USCT), including my distant ancestors: Benjamin and James W. Loney. I created a gallery of the  pictures of the memorial.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m an amateur genealogist. I’ve been researching my family history on and off for about 10 years, probably more. I found the bits of information.

James W. Loney is the great uncle of my great, great grandfather. He served in the U.S.C.T.: 10th Calvary, as a musician, a bugler, in the Band. This USCT was one of the cavalry units that comprised the original Buffalo Solidiers.

James Loney also served a long side his brother,  Benjamin F. Loney, a drummer during the Civil War.He served in 25th Infantry Regiment USCT and was transferred from Camp William Penn to Company E, 25th Regiment, Co. K on March 1, 1864.

Source Information

Ancestry.com. U.S., Buffalo Soldiers, Returns From Regular Army Cavalry Regiments, 1866-1916 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2012. This collection was indexed by Ancestry World Archives Project contributors.

About Camilla

I am a mom, a librarian, and a student.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenges, Genealogy, Photography 101, Veteran's Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to African American Civil War Memorial

  1. One of my favourite monuments in DC. Nice choice!

    Like

Comments are closed.