Book Review ~ Blood Alley

Happy Halloween

In honor of Halloween, I’m posting a review of a horror book that I read last year. In exchange for an honest review on Amazon and Good Reads, the author sent me an advanced reader copy.

If you’re out riding on a deserted highway on this Halloween evening, make sure you had your car serviced, you have enough gas so you don’t have to stop. Be sure to floor it and get off Blood Alley. You may not make it out alive.

Blood Alley (The Highwayman #1)Blood Alley by David Wisehart

Published: June 3, 2013 by Wisehart Entertainment

Well, let me start by saying that thanks to Stephen King, I stopped reading horror stories as soon as I started as a teenager. I don’t remember the title of the story but it was about a Polaroid camera and a ferocious dog coming out of each picture that the camera “took.” I know that was many moons ago, but it goes to show that Stephen King is a good writer. And the story was very impressionable on teenage girl.
With that said, I was hesitant to embark on new horror novel, Blood Alley, written by David Wisehart. However, I thought I’d give the horror genre another shot. I’m not an impressionable teenage girl anymore, so what did I have to lose?
Let me tell you, I’m glad that I did. The Highwayman series is off to a good start, with Blood Alley as its opening novel.
Blood Alley is about a malevolent spirit who terrorizes and kills trespassers on “his” highway. The book opens with a prologue of the story of a 1950s popular singer and his drummer who drag race on Blood Alley on a night when the Highwayman awakens. The first chapter begins in the present and focuses on a group of teenagers. Of course, the teenagers encounter car trouble and the terror begins.
Whew! I really enjoyed Blood Alley. The action scenes were spectacularly written. There were times when I actually sitting on the edge of my seat and gripping my Kindle tighter than necessary. OMG! I think a few times, I was actually holding my breath. There wasn’t a lot of gore for the sake of gore. Mr. Wisehart did an excellent job of building the tension sequences and driving home the action. Let’s just say I won’t be driving across the deserted highway at night. And I definitely won’t stop at the boarded-up farmhouse on same deserted highway.
Blood Alley was a definite page turner. I’ll be adding The Highwayman series to my reading list.
Overall grade for Blood Alley: A

About Camilla

I am a mom, a librarian, and a student.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.